This year’s art was selected by both open call and invitation. More than 400 artists submitted to the open call, and of these, less than 20% were selected. The submissions were reviewed by a committee of art professionals who made recommendations to the WPA staff. The majority of artists participating were identified through this process. An additional half-dozen or so were invited by WPA’s staff.

The 2019 participating artists are:
Ebtisam Abdulaziz, Kristin Adair, Farnoosh Ahmadi Shirazi, Sondra N. Arkin, Eames Armstrong, Mary Anne Arntzen, Selin Balci, David Barr, Kyle J. Bauer, Mary Baum, Erick Antonio Benitez, Julia Bloom, Chris Bohner, Lori Anne Boocks, Michael A. Booker, Anthony J. Bowers, Nakeya Brown, Gerardo Camargo, Florencio Lennox Campello, David Carlson, Hsin-Hsi Chen, Larry Cook, Kyrae Dawaun Cowan, Markele Cullins, Frank Hallam Day, John Deardourff, Monique Muse Dodd, Alexis Duque, Alex Ebstein, Pam Eichner, Edgar Endress, Nico Fertakis, Amy Finkelstein, Lloyd Foster, Stephen Hendee, Jessica Hopkins, Timothy J. Horjus, Michael Horsley, Erik Hougen, James Huckenpahler, Sarah Hull, Nate Larson, Magnolia Laurie, Khanh H. Le, Andrea Limauro, Kim Llerena, Timothy Makepeace, Tsedaye Makonnen, Jon Malis, Katherine Tzu-Lan Mann, Antonio McAfee, Nat Meade, Veronica Melendez, Linn Meyers, Maggie Michael, Greg Minah, Tyra Mitchell, Goitseone Bothale Moerane, Jonathan Monaghan, Ali Newhard, Lee Nowell-Wilson, Christos J. Palios, PLAKOOKEE, Rodrigo Pradel, Amber Robles-Gordon, Kate Sable, Nicole Marie Salimbene, Kim Khouan Khong Sandara, Josh Sender, Joseph Shetler, Alexandra Silverthorne, Dafna Steinberg, Dan Steinhilber, Mark Stockton, Cindy Stockton Moore, Monica Stroik, Martin Swift, Rob Tarbell, Trish Tillman, Richard Tuttle, Julie Willis, Jordann Wine, Ellen Xu, and Helen Zughaib

The members of the 2019 art committee are:

Michelle Grabner is an artist, writer, and curator and the Crown Family Professor of Art at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, where she has taught for twenty years. Grabner co-curated the 2014 Whitney Biennial and the 2016 Portland Biennial, and is the Artistic Director for the FRONT International – Cleveland Triennial for Contemporary Art. Her exhibition reviews are regularly published in X-tra and Artforum.

Rosario Güiraldes is the Assistant Curator at The Drawing Center in New York City. She has organized exhibitions and public programs at the Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA); University Museum of Contemporary Art (MUAC), Mexico City; The Drawing Center; Hessel Museum; Judd Foundation, all New York; and elsewhere. She holds a B.Arch from the Universidad de Buenos Aires and an MA in Curatorial Studies from the Center for Curatorial Studies, Bard College.

Schwanda Rountree is an attorney, collector, and independent art consultant. She has been an Advisory Board Member of the Spelman College Museum of Fine Art, Atlanta; Executive Board Member of the Porter Colloquium on African American Art, Washington, DC; and Board Member of the Rush Arts Philanthropic Foundation, New York. She has also served as Contributing Writer for the International Review on African American Art.

Amy Sadao is the Daniel W. Dietrich II Director at the ICA Philadelphia. She was appointed to the position in 2012, and has since dramatically increased ICA’s budget and staffing, and directed an ambitious contemporary program extending equity to overlooked and underrepresented artists, ideas, and publics. Previously, she was the Executive Director of Visual AIDS in New York. She holds a BFA from The Cooper Union and a MA in Comparative Ethnic Studies from UC Berkeley and began her career as an intern at the Whitney Museum at Philip Morris.

Shinique Smith is a Los Angeles and New York-based painter and sculptor. She has exhibited in the Istanbul and Busan biennials as well as at The Brooklyn Museum of Art; Denver Art Museum; Los Angeles County Museum of Art; The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston; New Museum; the Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery; and elsewhere. She earned her BFA and MFA from Maryland Institute College of Art, where she served on the Board of Trustees from 2013 to 2016.


If you have any questions about the art or artists, please email Jordan Martin, Production
Collaborator, at


2019 Collectors’ Night post-auction catalog
We invite you to view the artworks still available, as of May 5, 2019: